Message from Tommy McKearney

In 1980, Irish man Tommy McKearney spent 53 days on hunger Strike.

Today, a Palestinian man, Khader Adnan, has now entered his 63rd day on Hunger Strike.

From Ireland, Tommy sends a message of support to Khader’s wife, children, extended family, friends and comrades

“My name is Tommy Mc Kearney, and I would like to take this opportunity to send my best wishes, my heartfelt sympathy, and all my solidarity for all my friends we know, and send our sympathy and our understanding to the wife of Khader Adnan at this very trying time.

His wife and children, who are undergoing agonies as they wait on the hour, on the minute, to hear the awful news.

Fearing the knock on the door, fearing the ring of the telephone to tell them that their beloved father or husband has lost his life in a struggle for justice and dignity.

I can understand the feeling and the emotion that that family must be going through at this moment.

His wife, his children, his parents, if they are still alive, his brothers and sisters, the extended family and all the friends and relatives that the man has, waiting, praying, hoping, asking to have their suffering lifted from them.

The agony is dreadful. It is awful, and worse, it is unjust.

But you have my sympathy, and I am quite sure that of the vast majority of Irish people who understand your plight, and are only too aware of your suffering, and send you their prayers, wishes, and sympathies today.”